Get rid of Annoying Facebook Notifcations from Google Chrome

When Facebook offered me to have the notifications turned on for the chrome browser it felt like a cool idea. I did really have fun with it.

But since my PC is shared with my wife things got very confusing when she turned on notifications for her Chrome user. I think it’s a bug in chrome where notification for the inactive users are also shown. When I click on the notification it actually opens a tab from the other chrome user and opens the other user’s Facebook account. This is confusing and also against the main rules of privacy. I guess not even I need to know what’s happening in my wife’s Facebook account.

So here’s the solution I Googled, which is a simple change of settings.

  • Open the Google Chrome Settings page, at the top right > Settings.
  • Scroll to the bottom and click Show advanced settings.
  • Under Privacy, click Content settings.
  • Scroll down to Notifications.

notifications

  • Select exceptions, there should be an entry for Facebook and it should say allowed. Change it to blocked (Don’t delete the entry. It will prompt the users again whether to have notifications).

Fb-exception-remove

  • If you have more than one Chrome users you need to do this for each user.

Congratulations! you have no more harassment with Facebook notifications on Google Chrome!

Leave a Reply

